Three world premieres at Südseite nachts in Stuttgart

Theaterhaus Stuttgart © Dietmar Strauss

13. March 2018

On 10 April 2018 the Zafraan Ensemble will be a guest in the series »Südseite nachts« at Stuttgart’s Theaterhaus. Works by Giacinto Scelsi, Stefan Keller and Alexander Schubert as well as world premieres by Samir Odeh-Tamimi, Josep Planells Schiaffino and Nicolai Worsaae can be heard.

With the programme at Theaterhaus Stuttgart, the Zafraan Ensemble celebrates the rhythm – not in the sense of the numerical proportions of durations, but the rhythm as a sequence of sound energies, as a catalyst and liberator of sound.
The bow leads from Giacinto Scelsis’ Okanagon, which evokes with tam-tam and the low strings of harp and double bass a dark, earthly ritual, to the preoccupation with Cuban patterns and stereotypes of jazz.

The commissions went to Samir Odeh-Tamimi, with whom the Zafraan Ensemble has been working for a long time, and to Josep Planell’s Schiaffino and Nicolai Worsaae – young composers whose musical terrain Zafraan is exploring for the first time.

Giacinto Scelsi: Okanagon (1968)
for harp, double bass and percussion
Stefan Keller: Hammer (2015)
for saxophone, percussion and piano
Samir Odeh-Tamimi: Efráh (2018), WP
for harp solo
Josep Planells Schiaffino: Cavall (2018), WP
for saxophone, double bass, percussion and piano
Alexander Schubert: Superimpose I (2009)
for saxophone, double bass, percussion, piano and pass
Nicolai Worsaae: New Tags (2018), WP
for harp, double bass, percussion and pass

Admission: 12 € / 7 € (reduced)
only at the box office in front of the concert hall

Saturday, 10 April 2018, 8 pm
Theaterhaus, Stuttgart