Two Faced

FieldNotes03 Foto (c) Zu Kalinowska & Julian Moser

6. July 2020

The opening concert of the Month of Contemporary Music bears many exciting surprises !
→ Musikbrauerei Berlin
Friday, 28.08.2020, 6 PM + 8h30 PM
The concert takes place twice and tickets must be purchased online.

Fausto Romitelli: »Professor Bad Trip Lesson 1« (1998)
Sarah Nemtsov: »Seven Colours« (2018)
Misha Cvijović: »Emotional Logic« (2020, UA)

Zafraan Ensemble, Sirje Viise (soprano), Titus Engel (conductor), Daniel Weingarten (sound direction), Vincent Stefan (video)

TWO FACED shows ensemble, singer, fixed media, live electronics and video in different approaches to the elements that make us up physically and psychologically. It vividly describes the duality of emotional experiences and forms of expression between free will and coercion.
Firstly, Professor Bad Trip Lesson 1 lures in hypnotic sound spectra between protest and restraint, hardness and softness. A trip that almost seems like the struggle of an inner, human voice against an autotune control.
Sarah Nemtsov’s Seven Colors are also a magma of sounds, shapes and colors. This creates a rich, earthy, almost synaesthetic world that is closely linked to personal experiences. Emotionality and analysis destroy, support and run into each other; darken and amplify singular expressions and create a new creature that everyone is confronted with.
In response to the unexpected current situation, Emotional Logic focuses on how a longer period of isolation affects an ensemble. How this phase affects the individual members as people and musicians, especially in the comparison of the previously documented individual pre-corona self with the respective experiences during the crisis and the relationship to it in the past, present and future.

We are interested in how we have and will change based on our experience; emotionally, musically and as human beings. We want to turn potential destruction into a creative source. The research, the collection of materials and the formal structure (consisting of improvised and composed elements) reflect the recurring chaos that arises when one is confronted with strong emotions in isolation in a very controlled, unusual situation.

The quarantine thus became the constituent factor in the creation of this composition. The six basic human emotions (fear, disgust, sadness, anger, joy and surprise) are used as a kind of lens through which we look at the quarantine period. We observe ourselves and the others in four phases, as prescribed by the Corona regulations; sound research and interviews in virtual space, joint meetings, first online, then offline with a prescribed distance and at the end, the joint performance after a long period in which we could only consider ourselves as isolated members of an ensemble from a bygone era.

With the friendly support of Initiative Neue Musik Berlin/field notes and of Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung