UA Berlin II – The 1920ies: Exile


24. September 2020

Zafraan Ensemble is celebrating its 10th anniversary ! The second concert of the series deals with exile.
Where ? Meistersaal, Köthener Str. 38, 10963 Berlin
When ? 30.10.2020 at 6 PM and 8h30 PM


The evening will illuminate the intricate paths of emigration and exiled twelve-tone technique across the continents. The starting point is Stefan Wolpe’s “Piano Sonata N°1 ‘Stehende Musik'”, premiered in 1927 at Berlin’s Voxsaal. As a Jew and communist, everywhere became a travel destination for Wolpe from 1933 onwards. Having arrived in Vienna, he took lessons with Webern (represented here by his “Quartet op. 22” from the years 1928-30). Nobody in Palestine wanted to know or hear this, and so he began his last trip to the USA in 1938. His students there included not only Morton Feldman (to be heard here with his “Durations 1” from 1960), but also Ursula Mamlok from Berlin, who had emigrated to Ecuador in 1939 and received a scholarship in New York in 1940. Mamlok returned to Berlin in 2006. If the circle had not been broken forever, it would have closed. Ursula Mamlok will perform “From My Garden” and “Five Bagatelles”, as well as the world premiere of a composition by Simon Phillips.

Stefan Wolpe (1902-1972) Piano Sonate N°1 ‘Stehende Musik’ (UA Berlin, 1927)
Anton Webern (1883-1945) Quartett op. 22 (1928-1930)
Ursula Mamlok (1923-2016) From My Garden (1983)
Morton Feldman (1926-1987) Durations 1 (1960)
Ursula Mamlok (1923-2016) Five Bagatelles (1988)
Simon James Phillips (*1973) Pent (UA Berlin, 2020))

Zafraan Ensemble

Presented by: Mark Scheibe

Artistic direction: M. Smith, J. Gerhard, C. Hund-Göschel
Concept: M. Smith, S. Weihrauch, S. Solte, J. Gerhard

A concert series by the Zafraan Ensemble. Supported by Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa, by the  Ernst von Siemens-Musikstiftung and by the Dwight und Ursula Mamlok-Stiftung.