Zafraan Ensemble © Peter Gesierich

Zafraan Ensemble from Berlin is a young and multi-faceted group for contemporary music that has made a name for itself through innovative concert productions and its high musical quality. This is shown by the many prizes won in international competitions, and also by collaborations with some of the most important composers of our time.

The ensemble – made up of 10 musicians of diverse nationalities – was formed predominantly from graduates of the Hochschule für Musik Hanns Eisler Berlin, where it has repeatedly won the competition for contemporary music, and has worked on projects with conductors such as Manuel Nawri, Titus Engel, André de Ridder, Premil Petrovic and Adrian Pavlov. Since its formation in 2009, Zafraan Ensemble has performed internationally on numerous occasions, and in doing so, it has developed a wide and varied repertoire. Regular workshops with young composers and instrumentalists give the members of the ensemble the opportunity to pass on their vast knowledge of contemporary music and performance, most recently during the Beijing International Composition Workshop 2013 and at events of the Akademie Musiktheater Heute and in cooperation with the Institut Klangzeitort Berlin in the season 2014/15.

A hallmark of the ensemble are dramaturgically astute programmes such as »Umbrüche ins Offene«, »Dans l’espace et les temps« and the series »People aren’t sounds, are they?«, as well as choreographed concerts such as »Der Einzelklang und die Musik«, »Palimpsesto«, in which different elements like dance, performance, poetry, and painting are united. Extending its focus also towards music theatre, in 2013 the ensemble made its debut at the Schauspiel Stuttgart (director: Ulrich Rasche) and at the Deutsche Oper Berlin (director: Daniel Pfluger) , and had widespread success with their staged production of the chamber opera »Hypermusic Prologue« by Hèctor Parra and Lisa Randall at the Sophiensaele Berlin and Gare du Nord Basel (director: Benjamin Schad).

Last year, the ensemble appeared not only in various concerts and performances, but also in a theatre production by Ulrich Rasche and Nis-Momme Stockmann in collaboration with composer Ari Benjamin Meyers, thereby giving its debut at Kampnagel Hamburg, Kunstfest Weimar and Schauspiel Frankfurt. In October 2014, the debut release »Palimpsesto« was published as CD-DVD on the label Testklang (distributed by Harmonia Mundi) and got rave reviews (Longlist 2015/01 of Preis der deutschen Schallplattenkritik). In March 2015, the ensemble presented its first collaboration with the artist Aliénor Dauchez, a scenic concert installation entitled »Démesure«, which could be seen again in Paris and Berlin in summer 2016. In addition the ensemble conducted workshops and concerts with the composers Evan Gardner and Antoine Daurat and will present their results in autumn 2016 in the form of performances and recordings.

Next to concerts in Berlin, Dresden, Hanover, Baden-Baden, Rottenburg and at the Forum Wallis there will be two house productions during the season 2015/16. The ensemble will make its debut at Ultraschall Festival with the programme »Klangrede« under the direction of Titus Engel, for which new works by Johannes Boris Borowski, Stefan Keller and Eres Holz could be commissioned with the support of the Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation. In addition, the concert experiment »alif::split in the wall« is being developed in partnership with Chiharu Shiota, Jeremias Schwarzer, Samir Odeh-Tamimi, Stefan Goldmann, Folkert Uhde, Ilka Seifert und Salome Kammer, which will have its premiere at MaerzMusik – Festival for Time Issues 2016. The project transfers principles of the exhibition practice of visual, installation and performance art on the musical form of the concert.

The ensemble is comprised of the following members: Liam Mallett (flute), Miguel Pérez Iñesta (clarinet), Martin Posegga (saxophone), Anna Viechtl (harp), Daniel Eichholz (percussion), Clemens Hund-Göschel (piano), Emmanuelle Bernard (violin/viola), Josa Gerhard (viola/violin), Martin Smith (cello) und Beltane Ruiz Molina (double bass).

In 2015 and 2016, Zafraan Ensemble is receiving a basic funding from the Senatskanzlei – Kulturelle Angelegenheiten of the federal state of Berlin.

Zafraan Ensemble © Peter Gesierich

Das Zafraan Ensemble aus Berlin ist ein junges und vielseitiges Ensemble für zeitgenössische Musik, das sich durch seine hohe musikalische Qualität und innovative Konzertformate auszeichnet. Dies spiegelt sich unter anderem in zahlreichen Preisen bei renommierten internationalen Wettbewerben und der Zusammenarbeit mit den bedeutendsten Komponisten unserer Zeit wider.

Das aus zehn Musikern verschiedener Nationalitäten bestehende Ensemble formierte sich im Kern aus Absolventen der HfM Hanns Eisler Berlin, an der es mehrfach den ersten Preis im Wettbewerb für Interpretation zeitgenössischer Musik gewann, und arbeitet projektbezogen mit Dirigenten wie Manuel Nawri, Titus Engel oder Premil Petrovic zusammen. Seit seiner Gründung 2009 konnte das Ensemble bereits zahlreiche internationale Engagements wahrnehmen und sich dabei ein umfangreiches Repertoire erschließen. Sein profundes Wissen über neue Kompositionen und ihre Aufführung gibt es regelmäßig in Workshops an junge Komponisten und Instrumentalisten weiter, wie zuletzt beim Beijing International Composition Workshop in China, im Rahmen von Veranstaltungen der Akademie Musiktheater Heute und in Kooperation mit dem Institut Klangzeitort der Berliner Musikhochschulen.

Ein Markenzeichen des Ensembles sind dramaturgisch klug konzipierte Programme wie »Umbrüche ins Offene«, »Dans l’espace et les temps« und die Reihe »People aren’t sounds, are they?«, aber auch inszenierte Konzerte wie »Der Einzelklang und die Musik« oder »Palimpsesto«, in denen eine Verknüpfung mit Kunstrichtungen wie Tanz, Performance, Dichtung und Malerei stattfindet. Im Bereich Musiktheater debütierte das Ensemble 2013 am Schauspiel Stuttgart (Regie: Ulrich Rasche) sowie an der Deutschen Oper Berlin (Regie: Daniel Pfluger) und konnte mit großem Erfolg die Kammeroper »Hypermusic Prologue« von Hèctor Parra und Lisa Randall in Koproduktion mit den Sophiensaelen Berlin und dem Gare du Nord Basel szenisch uraufführen (Regie: Benjamin Schad).

Vergangenes Jahr wirkte das Zafraan Ensemble neben einer Reihe eigener Konzerte auch bei einer Produktion von Ulrich Rasche und Nis-Momme Stockmann in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Komponisten Ari Benjamin Meyers mit und debütierte dabei auf Kampnagel Hamburg, beim Kunstfest Weimar und am Schauspiel Frankfurt. Ende 2014 erschien die Debüt-Veröffentlichung »Palimpsesto« als CD-DVD über das Label Testklang im Vertrieb von Harmonia Mundi und stieß auf sehr positive Resonanz (u.a. Longlist 2015/01 vom Preis der deutschen Schallplattenkritik). Anfang 2015 präsentierte das Ensemble in Zusammenarbeit mit Aliénor Dauchez und La Cage eine Aufführungsserie des Musiktheaters »Démesure«, das im Sommer 2016 in Paris und Berlin erneut zu erleben sein wird. Zudem fanden Workshops mit den Komponisten Evan Gardner und Antoine Daurat statt, deren Ergebnisse ab Herbst 2016 in Form von diversen Aufführungen und Aufnahmen vorgestellt werden sollen.

In der Saison 2015/16 stehen neben Konzerten in Berlin, Dresden, Hannover, Baden-Baden, Rottenburg und beim Forum Wallis auch zwei große Eigenproduktionen an. Beim Ultraschall Festival und der ars nova Reihe des SWR debütiert das Ensemble unter der Leitung von Titus Engel in dem Programm »Klangrede« mit Uraufführungen der Komponisten Johannes Boris Borowski, Eres Holz und Stefan Keller, an die dank der Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung drei Kompositionsaufträge vergeben werden konnten. Zudem wird gemeinsam mit Chiharu Shiota, Jeremias Schwarzer, Samir Odeh-Tamimi, Stefan Goldmann, Folkert Uhde, Ilka Seifert und Salome Kammer das Konzertexperiment »alif::split in the wall« entwickelt, das bei der MaerzMusik seine Premiere feiert und anschließend bei diversen internationalen Festivals Station machen wird. Das Projekt überträgt Prinzipien der Ausstellungspraxis Bildender Kunst wie der Installation und des Performance-Theaters auf die musikalische Form des Konzerts.

Das Zafraan Ensemble setzt sich aus folgenden Mitgliedern zusammen: Liam Mallett (Flöten), Miguel Pérez Iñesta (Klarinetten), Martin Posegga (Saxophone), Anna Viechtl (Harfe), Daniel Eichholz (Schlagwerk), Clemens Hund-Göschel (Klavier), Emmanuelle Bernard (Violine/Viola), Josa Gerhard (Viola/Violine), Martin Smith (Violoncello) und Beltane Ruiz Molina (Kontrabass).

2015 und 2016 erhält das Zafraan Ensemble eine Basisförderung durch die Senatskanzlei – Kulturelle Angelegenheiten des Landes Berlin.