Lula Romero – Ins Offene (in the open)

16 May 2019

Provided to YouTube by The Orchard Enterprises

Ins Offene · Lula Romero · Premil Petrovic · Zafraan Ensemble

Lula Romero: Ins Offene

℗ 2019 Wergo

Released on: 2019-04-19

Eres Holz – Quintet

22 January 2016

Eres Holz – Quintett (2009) for ensemble

Junge Klangrede by Leonie Reineke
Deutschlandradio Kultur

Titus Engel – conductor

Zafraan Ensemble

Ultraschall – Festival of Contemporary Music
Berlin 22.01.2016

The music of Eres Holz, a former student of Hanspeter Kyburz, is one of the most exciting discoveries that could be made in Ultraschall – Festival for Contemporary Music 2016.
Holz is looking for a harmonic binding beyond the major-minor tonality. The ensemble work of Kataklothes by Eres Holz exposes a chain of chords, a progress of which at the same time is peculiarly logical and open: the title of the piece refers to the Moirai in the ancient Greek mythology which spin the thread of life. The result is an immensely colorful and plastic music, which makes harmony experienceable as a constantly changing phenomenon, as something that is not static but mobile in itself. (Julia Spinola / Deutschlandfunk)

Hypermusic Prologue Trailer

10 January 2013

A projective opera in seven planes by Hèctor Parra and Lisa Randall / Scenic world premiere production / October 2013

Sophiensaele Berlin / 04.10.2013 / 05.10.2013 / 06.10.2013
Gare du Nord Basel / 16.10.2013 / 17.10.2013 / 18.10.2013


A film by Aron Kitzig
Camera: Fabian Beyer, Joshua Wicke
Light: Moritz von Dungern
Sound: Martin Stupka
Cast: Johanna Greulich, Robert Koller, Manuel Nawri, Zafraan Ensemble
Musicians: Emmanuelle Bernard, Johannes Pennetzdorfer, Martin Smith, Beltane Ruiz Molina, Miguel Pérez Iñesta, Martin Posegga, Martin Glück, Daniel Eichholz

Musical direction: Manuel Nawri
Soloists: Johanna Greulich, Robert Koller
Electronics: Wolfgang Heiniger, Hadas Pe’ery
Zafraan Ensemble: Emmanuelle Bernard, Josa Gerhard, Martin Smith, Beltane Ruiz Molina, Marie Pinson, Miguel Pérez Iñesta, Martin Posegga, Daniel Eichholz
Stage direction: Benjamin Schad
Stage and costume design: Tobias Flemming
Light and video design: Aron Kitzig
Dramaturgy: Joshua Wicke
Production: Clemens Hund-Göschel, Sebastian Solte

A production of Zafraan Ensemble in co-production with Gare du Nord Basel and Sophiensaele Berlin. Funded by Hauptstadtkulturfonds, Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung, Spanische Botschaft in Berlin, Fachausschuss Musik BS/BL, Ernst Göhner Stiftung and Basellandschaftliche Kantonalbank. Supported by media partners Opernwelt, rbb Kulturradio, concerti, taz.die tageszeitung and cooperation partners Klangzeitort Institut für Neue Musik, Instituto Cervantes, Institut Ramon Llull and Einstein Forum.

Sonic Voyeur II

01 March 2018

Sonic Voyeur II is the second installation in a series of pieces that explore the relationship between sound and intimacy, and what it means to listen closely to events, actions, and relationships that are in fact quite personal and private.
In the first installation of Sonic Voyeur, the musicians were selectively amplified by a performer using a parabolic microphone. In the second installment, I explore a collective paranoia centered around the feeling that someone is eavesdropping on the musicians’ telephone conversations. Though the piece was written long before the revelations about the US government’s surveillance programs around the world, the piece can be understood in this context rather well. As Joseph Heller once famously said, “Just because you’re paranoid doesn’t mean they aren’t after you”. In terms of this piece, one might say the following: If you think someone is listening to your conversations, you might just be right.


01 February 2018

Musik von Johannes Boris Borowski, Eres Holz und Stefan Keller
Titus Engel (Dirigent)
Zafraan Ensemble: Liam Mallett (Flöten), Miguel Pérez Iñesta (Klarinetten), Martin Posegga (Saxophone), Anna Viechtl (Harfe), Daniel Eichholz (Schlagwerk), Clemens Hund-Göschel (Klavier), Emmanuelle Bernard (Violine/Viola), Josa Gerhard (Viola/Violine), Martin Smith (Violoncello) und Beltane Ruiz Molina (Kontrabass)

Démesure – Ein Musiktheater

20 March 2015

A music theatre production including works by Franck Bedrossian, Christophe Bertrand, Raphaël Cendo, Martin Grütter, Johannes Kreidler, Sarah Nemtsov and Alexander Schubert.

The world is too small. It is too big.
Démesure explores the longing of our generation to cope in a present over-saturated with information.
The world seems to get smaller all the time, and yet through this process its true vastness is exposed. Its complexity is endless, its interconnectedness unpredictable. The options available to us are limitless, power and helplessness exist side by side.
Démesure therefore takes the form of a “mise en corps”, and reacts to music by contemporary French and German composers, music that juxtaposes the beauty of fullness with the oppressive idea of a simultaneous dilation and compression.The audience is invited to examine this ambivalence together with the musicians, both musically and theatrically.

Idea, stage direction: Aliénor Dauchez
Musical direction: Clemens Hund-Göschel, Miguel Pérez Iñesta
Stage and costume design: Michael Kleine
Light design: Susana Alonso
Choreography: Sergiu Matis
Stage construction: Lichtblick Bühnentechnik
Dramaturgy: Janis El-Bira
Production: Sebastian Solte
Zafraan Ensemble: Liam Mallet (flute), Miguel Pérez Iñesta (clarinet), Martin Posegga (saxophone), Anna Viechtl (harp), Daniel Eichholz (percussion), Clemens Hund-Göschel (piano), Wojciech Garbowski (violin), Ildiko Ludwig (viola), Martin Smith (violoncello), Antoine Daurat (electronics)

A production by Zafraan Ensemble in cooperation with La Cage and Per Aspera. Funded by Kofinanzierungsfonds Berlin, Impuls Neue Musik, die Beauftragte der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien, Initiative Neue Musik Berlin, Konzert des deutschen Musikrates. With kind support of Ehemaliges Stummfilmkino Delphi, Lichtblick Bühnentechnik.