Concert installation »Blitzdorf« by Bnaya Halperin-Kaddari in Berlin

news_2018-10_Blitzdorf Blitzdorf © Bnaya Halperin-Kaddari

15. October 2018

As part of the exhibition »Seven Walks in and around Blitzdorf« by Bnaya Halperin-Kaddari, David Chaki and Ido Gordon, the Zafraan Ensemble presents its concert installation »Blitzdorf« on 31 October 2018 at the gallery Archive Books Berlin.

Navigating through a repressed geography, a sounding continuum tries to bridge across silent points on the map, its holes. Field recordings and sound walks from Israel-Palestine are woven with music for new instruments, in an attempt to modulate ones relation to the territory. Ghosts from the 1948 war resonate and re-activate the sonic environment in a counterpoint to the absence.

Composition: Bnaya Halperin-Kaddari
Installation: David Chaki, Ido Gordon
Zafraan Ensemble

Vernissage: 18.10.2018
Finissage: 28.10.2018
Concert: 31.10.2018, 20:00 (free admission)
Archive Books, 133 Müllerstraße, 13349 Berlin

A production by Bnaya Halperin-Kaddari and Zafraan Ensemble. Funded by means of Initiative Neue Musik Berlin, Einstein Stiftung, Rudolf Augstein Stiftung. UdK Graduiertenschule and Berlin Centre for Advanced Studies in Arts and Sciences.