Live-on-Tape of UA Berlin III. Die 1930er: Kein Ort, nirgends


12. March 2021

To make the best of the current situation and to continue our UA Berlin series despite the pandemic, we invite you to listen to and watch our UA Berlin III, IV and V concerts online on on 14.3, 28.3 and 11.4 from 5pm !

The UA Berlin III concert is available here : Dringeblieben

The Zafraan Ensemble celebrates its 10th anniversary!

In a series of ten chamber concerts, the history of Berlin from the 1910s to today is told as a musical one. Each of the evenings represents a decade, with a work premiered in Berlin during that decade forming the programmatic trigger.

The third concert in the series highlights the loss of home in the 1930s, when everything was falling apart. Berlin has just heard a world premiere
of the world-famous Stravinsky, and suddenly everything is different. Many leave, some go into themselves, and ‘arranging’ takes on a meaning outside the musical. Paul Dessau’s Suite, composed in 1935, is not premiered until 1989.
and that’s when we hear the rest of the movements. Rudolf Wagner-Régeny comes through in this way and does not remain unwounded. Paul Hindemith has many pupils everywhere and yet does not establish a tradition. The record of
The record for the most pupils, however, is still held by one composer: Carl Orff.

Paul Hindemith (1895-1963) Solo – Arioso – Duett aus: Trio für Klavier, Bratsche und Tenorsaxophon op. 47 (1928)
Paul Dessau Main Herz, main Herz nach einer jiddischen Volksweise (1936)
Rudolf Wagner-Régeny (1903-1969) Liebeslied (1950)
Igor Stravinsky (1882-1971) Duo concertante (UA Berlin 1932)
Darío Guerrero (*1987) Tres Intensidades (UA, 2021)
Carl Orff (1895-1982) aus: Musik für Kinder Band 4 Nr 29: „Stücke für Flöten, auch auf anderen Instrumenten zu spielen“
(1930-1935, Neufassung 1950-1954)
Paul Dessau (1894-1979) Suite für Altsaxofon und Klavier (1935, UA Berlin 1989)
Etienne Haan (*1992) Standing for/by (UA, 2021)

Presentation: Mark Scheibe

SAVE THE DATE for the next concert in the series:
The 1940s: Masterclass Quartet on 28 March 2021 at 5pm on !
The 1950s: Borderlines/Life Splinters on 11 April 2021 at 5pm on !

A concert series by the Zafraan Ensemble.
Supported by the Senate Department for Culture and Europe, the Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation and the Dwight and Ursula Mamlok Foundation.