Live-on-Tape of UA Berlin IV. Die 1940er: Meisterklassenquartett


18. March 2021

To make the best of the current situation and to continue our UA Berlin series despite the pandemic, we invite you to listen to and watch our UA Berlin III, IV, V and VI concerts online on on 14.3, 28.3, 11.4 and 25.4 from 5pm !

The UA Berlin III concert is available here : Dringeblieben

The Zafraan Ensemble celebrates its 10th anniversary!

In a series of ten chamber concerts, the history of Berlin from the 1910s to today is told as a musical one. Each of the evenings represents a decade, with a work premiered in Berlin during that decade forming the programmatic trigger.

Perhaps Auferstanden aus Ruinen is the best known, if not most performed, work by a 20th century New Music composer, and as befits German anthems, it is heard here as a string quartet. The Hochschule für Musik in East Berlin was named after its composer, Hanns Eisler. He held his master class at the Akademie der Künste Ost, as did Paul-Heinz Dittrich, who was a master student of Eisler and Blacher and later chaired a master class himself, as did Ruth Zechlin, who in turn was a student of Dessau. This could go on forever. Incidentally, Hanns Eisler remained an Austrian citizen until his death.

Paul-Heinz Dittrich (*1930)
Singbarer Rest (nach Paul Celan) 1. Satz (1987)

Hanns Eisler (1898-1962)
Hymne der Deutschen Demokratischen
Republik (UA Berlin 1949)
Arr. für Streichquartett

Günter Kochan (1930-2009)
5 Sätze für Streichquartett (1961)

Paul-Heinz Dittrich (*1930)
Singbarer Rest (nach Paul Celan) 2. Satz

Ruth Zechlin (1926-2007)
Streichquartett N°6 (UA Berlin 1978)

Joseph Haydn (1732-1809)
Kaiserquartett C-Dur Hob. III:77

Paul-Heinz Dittrich (*1930)
Singbarer Rest (nach Paul Celan) 3. Satz

Grégoire Simon (*1986)
iogi-jogi (UA Berlin 2021)

Presentation: Mark Scheibe

SAVE THE DATE for the next concert in the series:
The 1950s: Borderlines/Life Splinters on 11 April 2021 at 5pm on !

The 1960s: Herr Lehrer I on 25 April 2021 at 5 pm on !

A concert series by the Zafraan Ensemble.
Supported by the Senate Department for Culture and Europe, the Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation and the Dwight and Ursula Mamlok Foundation.