UA Berlin VIII. Die 1980er: 1989


8. June 2021

Zafraan Ensemble celebrates its 10th anniversary ! The 8th concert of the series is finally a LIVE concert at the Konzerthaus Berlin on June 28th, 2021 at 8pm !

Tickets: Konzerthaus

For its tenth anniversary, that is, the tenth of a century, the Zafraan Ensemble is planning a richly ambitious undertaking. In a series of ten chamber concerts, the history of Berlin from the 1910s to today is to be told as a musical one.
Contemporary musical history is made into history, across two world wars and five forms of government.

If 80s and Berlin, then directly 1989 and what was composed, premiered, commissioned there. It is partly quiet and modest and conscious. That would have been good to everyone and everything. We also encounter Paul Dessau and his Suite, written in 1935, whose first three movements were heard in public for the first time in 1989 and whose fourth movement is finally being premiered today.

We are completing what was begun more than 80 years ago. Because everything that belongs together grows together: again. Because everything is heard together and grows together: against.

Paul Dessau „Suite für Altsaxophon und Klavier“ 4. Satz (UA Berlin 2021)

Iris ter Schiphorst „Ballade für einen Bulldozer“ für Violine und Synthesizer/Sampler

Thierry Blondeau Quintette „Luftbrücken“

Isabel Mundry „again and against“ für Flöte solo

Jonathan Harvey „Three Sketches“ für Violoncello solo

Matan Porat „I cannot take this anymore“ (UA Berlin 2021)
Presented by Mark Scheibe

A concert series of the Zafraan Ensemble.

Supported by Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa, the Ernst von Siemens-Musikstiftung and the Dwight und Ursula Mamlok-Stiftung.