UA Berlin X. Die 2000er: Jahrtausend


10. September 2021

On Oct 2nd 2021, Zafraan Ensemble invites all of you to the closing concert of its legendary UA Berlin series at the Musikbrauerei (Greifswalder Straße 23A, 10405 Berlin) to celebrate the music of the millennium !


As one of the younger ensembles on the Berlin scene, the Zafraan Ensemble has always seen it as its task to actively shape the history of New Music in Berlin. With the last concert in this series, the Zafraan Ensemble is now giving itself a birthday present and playing a small selection of its favourite works – beginning with Gauze I by Mark Barden, the first world premieres after the ensemble was founded in 2009.

In a series of ten chamber concerts, the Zafraan Ensemble tells the story of Berlin from the 1910s to the present day as a musical one. Each of the concert evenings stands for a decade, with a work premiered in Berlin in that decade forming the programmatic trigger.


Mark Barden (*1980) Gauze I (2009)

Christophe Bertrand (1981-2010) dall’inferno

Yoav Pasovsky (*1980) Fieber (2010)

Cathy Milliken (*1956) A Desperate Adventure and Courage and a Clock (UA 2021)

Eres Holz (*1979) Kataklothes (2015)

Irene Galindo Quero (*1985) Prénom C. (2015)


Conductor: Premil Petrović

Presentation: Mark Scheibe