Bild Konzert Zafraan

On 29 November at 7 pm, a very special evening awaits you at the Zwingli Church in Berlin-Friedrichshain: Genoël von Lilienstern will create a unique sound experience that will appeal to all your senses...

The French word ‘terroir’ literally translates as ‘region’. It also contains the word ‘terre’. It stands for the entirety of a local environment. An ambience that includes elements such as soil, climate and topography. The term was first used in the culinary world, where it also stands for an ‘honest’ cuisine that relies on the power of a few ingredients. However, it goes beyond this context. It is about activating the perception of the materiality at hand. An appreciation of the given resources, without a preconceived framing. In this sense, the term is both earthbound and transcendental.

Over several years, Genoël von Lilienstern has developed a series of pieces that focus particularly strongly on sound. It is about a condensed, immersive concert experience, especially of sounds that are not only articulated via the sense of hearing, but also trigger haptic and physical experiences. Sounds and the exploitation of their special properties, as well as the associated perceptual effects, are at the centre of this work in progress. This approach is complementary to other compositions by Genoël von Lilienstern, which are often woven from virtuoso networks of semantic references. Here, however, the sound substance takes centre stage. The intense experience of the moment, a calmness – despite the volume – that arises within a slow-motion dramaturgy.

In Terroir, Genoël von Lilienstern builds on various current innovations in experimental sound design. On the one hand, it is about the electrified zooming into the instrumental sound. It is monumentalised through transposition, distortion and spatialisation. This takes place in slow developments, as is common in doom metal.

Composition for ensemble and electronics: Genoël von Lilienstern

Flute: Liam Mallett

Saxophone: Martin Posegga

clarinet: Miguel Pérez Iñesta

Violin: Emmanuelle Bernard

Viola: Josa Gerhard

Cello: Martin Smith

Double bass: Beltane Ruiz Molina

Harp: Anna Viechtl

Linnstrument: Clemens Hund-Göschel

Scenic conception: Bastian Zimmermann

Technical production management: Hannes Teichmann

Management and public relations: Sofia Surgutschowa